Posted by: Denise | March 5, 2009

Granola and Cereal

For the past few months we’ve been using up the surplus of cereal in the pantry. Now that it is almost gone, I’m starting to miss a few of my favorites.  Luckily, my favorite store-bought cereal is mostly whole grains and reasonably good for you; unfortunately, it’s somewhat expensive, comes in a tiny box, and isn’t organic.

I made a batch of granola a while back that Holly really enjoyed.  It made me wonder if I could duplicate the cereal I liked so much.   I bought some organic whole-grain flakes from the bulk bins, mixed with oatmeal, molasses, honey, and oil, and garnished with pecans, dates, and raisins.  I think it is pretty close!  I’m happy that I can control the quality of ingredients and quantity of sugar, and still end up with something I love for a fraction of the price.

We’re heading out of town this weekend, but plan to take the granola/cereal and some homemade yogurt on the road with us, for quick and easy breakfasts.


Responses

  1. […] and Holly have been busy using up the contents of their fridge and pantry, including an excess of cereal grains. Last week Denise made a batch of granola that completely […]

  2. There is really nothing like homemade granola…. and go you for recreating one of the store-type cereals…. that is a winner to convince many people that this can be done! As you say, not just the price factor (!!!) but also knowing what has gone into the food and where it is from makes it much more satisfying. Enjoy your trip this weekend.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

